Before the opening of the Wallace Collection as a public museum in 1900 Herford House was the home of Sir Richard and Lady Wallace and contained Sir Richard’s private art collection, which could be viewed by appointment. Visitors on a tour of the collection would sign the Visitors’ Book, which is preserved in the Wallace Collection Archive. In it can be found a record of all those who visited the collection from 1876 to 1897. For over a year, the Wallace Collection’s Research Librarian Helen Jones worked on transcribing the signatures and uncovering the identities of the people behind the names. She will present a talk on a selection of these people, all chosen for their fascinating stories resulting from their position in society, their talents and actions, and, occasionally, the scandals that later engulfed them.
This event will take place in the Lecture Theatre, located on the lower ground floor of the Museum.
Free, no need to book
Date & Times
|Date||Start Time||End Time|