Synergy Series: The Staircase

What's On

Synergy Series: The Staircase

Synergy Series: The Staircase

Date: Sunday 16 May 2021
Times: Premiere 18:00 to 18:40 BST, and available to view anytime thereafter
Location: YouTube (Online broadcast)

Discover the connections between art and music in this major new partnership with Orpheus Sinfonia.

Through five intimate performances filmed within the splendour of Hertford House, we invite you to explore the styles, forms and compositions that unite music – performed live in our galleries during lockdown – with paintings, decorative arts, and arms and armour.

With concise introductions from Wallace Collection Director, Dr Xavier Bray, alongside Orpheus Sinfonia’s Artistic team, Thomas Carroll and Rosemary Taylor, each premier broadcast features Orpheus Sinfonia musicians performing a specially-selected repertoire that brings the synergy of art and music into focus.

Sunday 16 May: The Staircase
The Staircase in Hertford House is a spectacular feature in its own right, and in our finale to the series, we bring it to life like never before. Exploring our exquisite paintings by Boucher and the shared inspiration of sunrise, we recreate the extraordinary, original premiere performance of Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll, on the staircase itself. A magical moment, it has to be seen to be believed.

Wagner – Siegfried Idyll, WWV 103

Orpheus Sinfonia
Thomas Carroll - Conductor
Nathaniel Anderson-Frank – Violin
Rose Hinton – Violin
Bryony Gibson-Cornish – Viola
Sergio Serra Lopez – Cello
Frances Emery – Double Bass
Ruth Harrison – Flute
Alasdair Hill – Oboe
Rosemary Taylor – Clarinet
Oliver Pashley – Clarinet
Izabela Musial – Bassoon
Tom Bettley – Horn
Finlay Bain – Horn
Adam Stockbridge – Trumpet

The Series: Further performances will premier at 18.00 BST on Sundays 21 March, 4 and 18 April, and 2 May 2021. You can book a ticket for the series, or for individual performances. See the full series programme here.

Joining Information and Format: Each performance will be broadcast on YouTube. Ticket holders will be emailed the broadcast link 48 hours in advance. Following its premiere, each performance is available to re-visit at any time using the same viewing link.

All donations to this event will be shared equally between The Wallace Collection and Orpheus Sinfonia. We are extremely grateful for anything you are able to give.

Date & Times

Date Start Time End Time
16/05/2021 18:00 18:40

Ticket Information

Ticket type Price
Online Performance, without donation £5
Online Performance £5 + £15 donation £20
Online Performance £5 + £45 donation £50
Online Performance £5 + £95 donation £100
Book tickets