Synergy Series: Silent Witness

What's On

Synergy Series: Silent Witness

Synergy Series: Silent Witness

Date: Sunday 2 May 2021
Times: Premiere 18:00 to 18:40 BST, and available to view anytime thereafter
Location: YouTube (Online broadcast)

Discover the connections between art and music in this major new partnership with Orpheus Sinfonia.

Through five intimate performances filmed within the splendour of Hertford House, we invite you to explore the styles, forms and compositions that unite music – performed live in our galleries during lockdown – with paintings, decorative arts, and arms and armour.

With concise introductions from Wallace Collection Director, Dr Xavier Bray, alongside Orpheus Sinfonia’s Artistic team, Thomas Carroll and Rosemary Taylor, each premier broadcast features Orpheus Sinfonia musicians performing a specially-selected repertoire that brings the synergy of art and music into focus.

Sunday 2 May: Silent Witness
Art and music have been a silent witness to all manner of historic moments. This evening’s programme plays with the concept of paintings, furniture and music bearing witness to particular moments at the Courts of Louis XIV, Louis XV, and Marie-Antoinette, such as Mozart’s first visit to Versailles, where he performed aged only seven.

Lully Egyptian Dance from Le Mariage forcé 
Violin and Harpsichord Sonata, K6 in C Major
Rameau Cruelle mère des amours” from Hippolyte Et Aricie
Gluck  “Adieu, conservez dans votre âme” from Iphigénie en Aulide

Orpheus Sinfonia
Claire Lees – Soprano
Peter Foggitt – Harpsichord
Nathaniel Anderson-Frank – Violin
Henry Tong – Violin
Sophie Simpson – Violin
Tetsummi Nagata – Viola
Davina Shum – Cello
Pasha Mansurov – Flute

The Series: Further performances will premier at 18.00 BST on Sundays 21 March, 4 and 18 April, and 16 May 2021. You can book a ticket for the series, or for individual performances. See the full series programme here.

Joining Information and Format: Each performance will be broadcast on YouTube. Ticket holders will be emailed the broadcast link 48 hours in advance. Following its premiere, each performance is available to re-visit at any time using the same viewing link.

All donations to this event will be shared equally between The Wallace Collection and Orpheus Sinfonia. We are extremely grateful for anything you are able to give.

Date & Times

Date Start Time End Time
02/05/2021 18:00 18:40

Ticket Information

Ticket type Price
Online Performance, without donation £5
Online Performance £5 + £15 donation £20
Online Performance £5 + £45 donation £50
Online Performance £5 + £95 donation £100
Book tickets