Synergy Series: Ceremony and Battle

What's On

Synergy Series: Ceremony and Battle

Synergy Series: Ceremony and Battle

Date: Sunday 18 April 2021
Times: Premiere 18:00 to 18:40 BST, and available to view anytime thereafter
Location: YouTube (Online broadcast)

Discover the connections between art and music in this major new partnership with Orpheus Sinfonia.

Through five intimate performances filmed within the splendour of Hertford House, we invite you to explore the styles, forms and compositions that unite music – performed live in our galleries during lockdown – with paintings, decorative arts, and arms and armour.

With concise introductions from Wallace Collection Director, Dr Xavier Bray, alongside Orpheus Sinfonia’s Artistic team, Thomas Carroll and Rosemary Taylor, each premier broadcast features Orpheus Sinfonia musicians performing a specially-selected repertoire that brings the synergy of art and music into focus.

Sunday 18 April: Ceremony and Battle
Hertford House is home to one of the world’s finest collections of arms and armour, and tonight we take the opportunity to explore it through the music of ceremony and battle. Fanfare music for brass quintet and percussion takes us through the splendour of Sovereign Ceremonies, the drama of music in battle, a pistol duel, and dynamic selections of music from Richard III.

Scheidt – Galliard Battaglia from Battle Suite
Bliss, arr. Bettley – The Sovereign’s Fanfare
Infantry – Last Post and Reveille
Purcell, arr. Bettley – Queen Mary’s Funeral March
Walton, arr. Bettley – Selections from Richard III: Fanfare, Trumpets Sound, March and Finale

Orpheus Sinfonia
Adam Stockbridge – Trumpet
Sam Lewis – Trumpet
Tom Bettley – Horn
Tom Barton – Trombone
Stephen Calow – Tuba
Ben Brooker – Percussion

The Series: Further performances will premier at 18.00 BST on Sundays 21 March, 4 April, and 2 and 16 May 2021. You can book a ticket for the series, or for individual performances. See the full series programme here.

Joining Information and Format: Each performance will be broadcast on YouTube. Ticket holders will be emailed the broadcast link 48 hours in advance. Following its premiere, each performance is available to re-visit at any time using the same viewing link.

All donations to this event will be shared equally between The Wallace Collection and Orpheus Sinfonia. We are extremely grateful for anything you are able to give.

Date & Times

Date Start Time End Time
18/04/2021 18:00 18:40

Ticket Information

Ticket type Price
Online Performance, without donation £5
Online Performance £5 + £15 donation £20
Online Performance £5 + £45 donation £50
Online Performance £5 + £95 donation £100
Book tickets